Highest Wicket Takers in BBL History

Cricket Betting > Blog > Highest Wicket Takers in BBL History

cricket betting

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


Big Bash League (BBL), the spotlight often shines on explosive batting and jaw-dropping catches. However, the bowlers play an equally significant role in making the league a thrilling spectacle. Let’s delve into the world of BBL’s leading wicket-takers, showcasing the skill and tenacity of the bowlers who have left a lasting impact on this exciting T20 tournament. 

Overview of BBL Highest Wicket Takers

The list of most wickets in BBL history is a fascinating mix of pace and spin, showcasing the versatility and talent of bowlers who’ve graced the league over the years. BBL, the second-oldest cricket league globally, has witnessed huge popularity and fierce competition since its inception in 2011.

The BBL format has evolved over time, but the one thing that has remained constant is the bowlers’ ability to give their best on the pitches designed to favor batsmen and high-scoring encounters.

Most Wickets Takers in BBL – Top 10 List

Here’s a glimpse of the most wicket-takers in the cricket history. 

Sean Abbott109154
Andrew Tye101144
Kane Richardson 102129
Ben Dwarshuis95117
Adam Zampa99114
Ben Laughlin96111
Jason Behrendorff86107
Daniel Sams76100
Micahel  Neser8899
Rashid Khan6998

Top 3 Highest Wicket Takers in BBL History 

Here, we have mentioned the names of the top 3 highest wicket-takers who have etched their names in the BBL league Tournament. 

Sean Abbott 

At the forefront of the list of most wickets in BBL history is Sydney Sixers’ pace sensation, Sean Abbott. He’s amassed a remarkable 154 wickets in 109 matches, consistently tormenting opposition batters. Abbott’s journey began when he made his debut in 2011, and he hasn’t looked back since.

  • Sean Abbott’s BBL debut was with Sydney Thunder in the first two seasons, where he claimed 10 wickets in 14 matches.
  • Since the 2013/14 season, Abbott has played an important role in the Sydney Sixers team.
  • His amazing performance season was in 2016/17, where he took 20 wickets in 10 matches.
  • The 2019/20 and 2020/21 tournaments brought back-to-back titles for his team, with Abbott contributing 14 and seven wickets, respectively.

Andrew Tye 

Following a one-year stint with Sydney Thunder in 2013/14, Andrew Tye found his home with Perth Scorchers in the 2014/15 campaign. He immediately impacted with 14 wickets in 10 matches, helping his team secure their second consecutive title.

  • Known for his precision in death bowling, Tye has been a key player for Perth Scorchers ever since.
  • He has consistently bagged 10 or more wickets in almost every season, with the exception of 2019/20, when an elbow injury sidelined him.

Kane Richardson

Kane Richardson began his BBL journey with Adelaide Strikers for the first six seasons. His adeptness in delivering yorkers made him one of the most powerful bowlers. He guided his team to two semi-finals, taking 37 wickets in 36 matches.

  • Since the 2017/18 tournaments, Richardson has spearheaded the Melbourne Renegades’ pace attack, helping them secure their only BBL trophy in 2018/19.
  • His standout performance in that victorious campaign included ending as the top wicket-taker with 24 scalps from 14 matches at an economy rate of 7.75.

Final thoughts On BBL Highest Wicket-Takers 

BBL pitches have a reputation for being challenging for bowlers, but these top wicket-takers have faced the odds and imprinted their names in the league’s history. In the upcoming BBL seasons, it’s sure that the spinners and pacers will continue to play an important part in shaping the destiny of their respective teams.

However, as the BBL continues to evolve, we can expect more pace and spin bowlers to rise to the challenge and join the list of the highest wicket-takers in the BBL league’s history. 

For More Details you may also read about Most Fifties in BBL History: Batters with Consistency