BBL Winning Captains List From 2011-12 to 2022-23

Cricket Betting > Blog > BBL Winning Captains List From 2011-12 to 2022-23

cricket betting

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


The Big Bash League (BBL) is one of the greatest T20 leagues in the world. With a perfect mix of talented Australian and foreign players, BBL offers unmatched entertainment to cricket fans. The tournament has witnessed some of the finest T20 and international cricketers captaining their franchise to glory. 

BBL Winning Captains List

Steve Smith was the first player to lead his franchise to a BBL trophy. He guided Sydney Sixers to glory in the 2011-12 edition after a seven-wicket victory over Perth Scorchers in the final. Adam Voges, Moises Henriques, and Ashton Turner are three players to have lifted the BBL most times. The trio has led their respective franchises to success twice. 

Here’s the list of BBL-winning captains:

SeasonWinnerBBL-winning Captain
2011-12Sydney SixersSteve Smith
2012-13Brisbane HeatChris Hartley
2013-14Perth ScorchersSimon Katich
2014-15Perth ScorchersAdam Voges
2015-16Sydney ThunderMichael Hussey
2016-17Perth ScorchersAdam Voges
2017-18Adelaide StrikersTravis Head
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesAaron Finch
2019-20Sydney SixersMoises Henriques
2020-21Sydney SixersMoises Henriques
2021-22Perth ScorchersAshton Turner
2022-23Perth ScorchersAshton Turner

Adam Voges | 2 BBL Titles

Adam Voges is the first player to lift the BBL twice. He successfully captained Perth Scorchers in the 2014-15 and 2016-17 editions. A top-order batsman and a part-time spinner, Voges took over the reins from Simon Katich in the BBL fourth season. The former Australian international, who scored a 269 against West Indies in Hobart, wasn’t prolific with the bat in both title-winning seasons but had the likes of Shaun Marsh, Michael Klinger, Jason Behrendorff,  Andrew Tye, etc., at his disposal.

Moises Henriques | 2 BBL Titles

All-rounder Moises Henriques guided the Sydney Sixers franchise to back-to-back BBL titles in the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons. Henriques, who has represented Australia in all three formats, scored more than 250 runs in the 2019-20 season, while he missed most of the matches in the following season due to a hamstring injury. The 36-year-old was also a regular in the IPL for a long time and played a crucial role for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2016 season.

Ashton Turner | 2 BBL Titles

Ashton Turner joined the illustrious club of multiple BBL-winning captains after winning the 2022-23 edition. In the 2021-22 final, the 30-year-old, who has over 2000 BBL runs, led from the front as he hit a 35-ball 54 and took a crucial wicket. He also amassed 357 runs at a strike rate close to 154. A year later, Turner again played a match-winning knock in the final for the Scorchers. He scored a quickfire fifty, which helped the Perth-based franchise chase down 178 against the Brisbane Heat. It was their record fifth BBL title. 

Steve Smith, Chris Hartley, Simon Katich, Michael Hussey, Travis Head, and Aaron Finch are players to have lifted the BBL title once. Hartley is the only uncapped player to have captained a franchise to a trophy in BBL. 

Concluding Thoughts

BBL has a rich history of some of the finest players captaining their team to success. At 38, Simon Katich guided Perth Scorchers to its maiden silverware in the league, while Travis Head took Adelaide Strikers to their first-ever BBL trophy at the age of 25. Meanwhile, two legendary names in Australian cricket, Steve Smith and Aaron Finch, have etched their name in the BBL history books.

For More Details you may also read Most Sixes in BBL – Top 5 Six Hitters in BBL History

FAQs about BBL Winning Captains List

Who was the first BBL-winning captain?

Steve Smith is the first-ever captain to lift BBL, guiding Sydney Sixers to victory over Perth Scorchers in the BBL 2011-12 final.

Has Aaron Finch won a BBL title?

Aaron Finch was the captain when Melbourne Renegades won the BBL title in the 2018-19 season.

Who are the players to win more than one BBL title?

Adam Voges, Moises Henriques, and Ashton Turner have won BBL twice as captain.