Top Five Captains with most wins in ODI World Cup History

Cricket Betting > Blog > Top Five Captains with most wins in ODI World Cup History

cricket betting

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


Some of the finest teams will be landing in India to play in the biggest tournament in the world in 2023. Yes, we are talking about the ODI World Cup, which is set to begin on October 5 with England taking on New Zealand.

This also means a great opportunity for some of the inspiring leaders to showcase their talents as well, just like some of these players did in the history of this tournament.

Take a look at the best captains with most wins in ODI World Cup (overall from 1975 to 2019). 

Who are the top Five Captains With Most Wins in ODI World Cup history?

Our list begins with Australia’s Ricky Ponting, who led Australia to 26 wins. He is then followed by New Zealand’s Stephen Fleming, who is also a CSK coach. Our list also had the West Indies’ Clive Lloyd, India’s MS Dhoni, and Pakistan’s Imran Khan.

Except Fleming, all of them won a World Cup trophy.

  1. Ricky Ponting (Australia)
  2. Stephen Fleming (New Zealand)
  3. Clive Lloyd (West Indies)
  4. MS Dhoni (India)
  5. Imran Khan (Pakistan)

Analysis of Captains with Most Wins in ODI World Cup 

Let’s begin our analysis with Ponting, who is the most successful ODI World Cup captain and tops our list of captains with most wins. 

Ricky Ponting (Australia):

Known as ‘Punter,’ Ponting made his ODI World Cup debut in 1996. He tasted his first success with a World Cup win in 1999 under the leadership of Steve Waugh.

  • However, he was named the skipper, and he in turn would help Australia lift the 2003 and 2007 ODI World Cups.
  • He was also the captain in the 2011 ODI World Cup, but Australia were knocked out in the quarterfinals after losing to India.
  • Ponting captained 29 matches and won 26 of them. That’s a win percentage of 89.65, making him the most successful ODI World Cup captain ever!

Stephen Fleming (New Zealand):

One of the legendary captains of his time, Fleming now serves as the coach of IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings.

  • He led New Zealand in three World Cups (1999, 2003, and 2007).
  • Despite lacking the media coverage of the big nations, New Zealand played good cricket under him, reaching the knockout stage every time.
  • They even reached the semi-finals of the 2007 ODI World Cup, where they were knocked out by Sri Lanka.
  • All in all, Fleming went on to lead New Zealand in 27 matches, winning 16 of them. That was a win percentage of 59.25, which is not great. But some things just can’t be judged by numbers.

Clive Lloyd (West Indies):

Just like Ponting, Lloyd also led the West Indies in three ODI World Cups.

  • He led the team to the World Cup trophy in 1975 and 1979, making them win 15 out of the 17 games he captained.
  • That’s a win percentage of 88.23, making him the second-most successful captain in the history of the ODI World Cup.
  • He again led the West Indies to the 1983 ODI World Cup final, where Kapil Dev’s India beat them to the trophy.

MS Dhoni (India):

Dhoni led India to the trophy on home soil in 2011. In fact, he also hit that iconic six, which changed Indian cricket forever.

  • However, unlike Ponting and Lloyd, Dhoni couldn’t lead India in multiple tournaments, and yet he is the third most successful skipper in the history of the ODI World Cup!
  • He captained India in 17 matches, winning 14 while one game was a tie. This was a win percentage of 82.35.
  • Dhoni came to fame after leading India to the 2007 T20 World Cup, which came in the aftermath of the 2007 ODI World Cup debacle.
  • India would win the 2011 World Cup, become number one in Test cricket, and also win the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy under Dhoni’s leadership.
  •  This was also the last time India won an ICC trophy.

Imran Khan (Pakistan): 

Legendary Pakistan skipper Imran Khan is the last man on our list.

  • Not only was he a great all-rounder for Pakistan, but he was also an inspirational leader.
  • Under his leadership, Pakistan went on to find some terrific players like Saeed Anwar, Inzamam-Ul-Haq, and Wasim Akram, who would go on to lead Pakistan in the next decade or so.

Final Thoughts on Captains with Most Wins in ODI World Cup 

The list has players from different eras. You have players like Ricky Ponting and MS Dhoni who belong to the modern era.

 At the same time, you also have someone like Clive Lloyd, who captained in the 1970s. Then you also had someone mercurial like Imran Khan, who led his team to glory in 1992.

But all of them had one thing in common: they all knew how to bounce back. They inspired their players and turned their team into a formidable unit with effortless efficiency.

Let’s hope we get to see some more inspiring leadership in the upcoming ODI World Cup.

FAQ about Captains with Most Wins in ODI World Cup

1.Which captain has won the most World Cups?

This record belongs to Australia’s Rickly Ponting and Clive Lloyd. Both won two trophies.

2.Which Indian captain won the most World Cups?

Both Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni won one World Cup each.

3.Which captain won two World Cups?

Two captains: Australia’s Ricky Ponting and the West Indies’ Clive Lloyd