Countries that have Won the World Cup Unbeaten

Cricket Betting > Blog > Countries that have Won the World Cup Unbeaten

icc cricket world cup

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


Winning the World Cup without losing a match is a sensational feat. To achieve it needs hard work and spectacular team spirit. Only a few teams have done it, but those who managed to stay unbeaten over an entire tournament have something to be proud of for the rest of their lives. 

Countries that have Won the ODI World Cup Unbeaten

There have been only five instances when the teams have won the ODI Cricket World Cup without losing a game. West Indies (1975 and 1979) and Australia (2003 and 2007)  have managed to do it twice, while Sri Lanka, in 1996, went through the road of glory unbeaten. 

Let us recap the unbeaten campaigns of the three teams: 

Australia – 2003 World Cup

Australia in 2003 was a team that dominated their opponents. Under the aggressive captaincy of Ricky Ponting, Australia won all eleven matches in the 2003 ODI World Cup. On the way to glory, Australia defeated Pakistan, India, the Netherlands, Zimbabwe, Namibia, England, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Kenya, Sri Lanka, and India. The Kangaroos defeated India and Sri Lanka twice in the tournament.

Australia – 2007 World Cup

Australia, led by Ricky Ponting again, was one of the strongest teams of the 2007 ODI World Cup. The players like Glenn McGrath, Matthew Hayden, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, and Andrew Symonds instilled fear in the hearts of the opponents. 

On their way to World Cup glory in 2007, Australia played eleven matches in the 2007 ODI World Cup and won all of them. Ponting’s men crushed Scotland, the Netherlands, South Africa, West Indies, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka. Australia played eleven matches in the 2007 ODI World Cup and won all of them. In the semi-finals, Australia overcame South Africa, while they grabbed a comfortable win over Sri Lanka in the title clash.

Sri Lanka – 1996 World Cup

Sri Lanka took an aggressive route to win the ODI World Cup in 1996. The opening batters, Sanath Jayasuriya and Romesh Kaluwitharana took on the bowlers in the powerplay and put them under immense pressure. Sri Lanka had other key players like Aravinda de Silva, Arjuna Ranatunga, Chaminda Vaas, and Muttiah Muralitharan. 

Sri Lanka defeated Zimbabwe, India, Kenya, England, and Australia on the way to its maiden World Cup triumph. The group stage fixtures Australia and West Indies were a walkover for the island nation as both teams refused to travel to Colombo. Meanwhile, the Lankans overcame India in the semi-final and cruised to a win over Australia in the final. 

West Indies – 1975 World Cup

The West Indies team of the 1975 World Cup was a force to be reckoned with. Along with the quality players, the West Indies team had an inspirational leader in Clive Lloyd. He put his hand up in the final and played a captain’s knock, scoring a brilliant century. 

The West Indies team played five matches in the 1975 ODI World Cup and won all of them. Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, and Australia suffered defeats at the hands of the great West Indian team. Going unbeaten in the first-ever ODI World Cup was a sensational achievement. 

West Indies – 1979 World Cup

The West Indies had a dream team in the 1979 ODI World Cup. Under the leadership of Clive Lloyd, the West Indies team played fearlessly and dominated the mega tournament. Out of the five matches that the West Indies played in the 1979 World Cup, they won four, and one was abandoned. 

The West Indies came hard on India, New Zealand, Pakistan, and England on the route to glory. The match against Sri Lanka was called off due to bad weather. They hammered India by nine wickets in their tournament opening match, while they crushed England by 92 runs in the final. 

Concluding Thoughts

Going unbeaten in a World Cup is a record every cricket team aspires for. West Indies, Sri Lanka, and Australia have managed to achieve after some hard-fought wins and delivering under pressure. The biggies at the World Cup 2023 will want to join the countries that have won the ODI World Cup unbeaten club.  

Also Read List of Top 5 Highest Totals in Asia Cup ODI Matches

FAQs about Countries to have Won the ODI World Cup Unbeaten

Which teams have won an ODI World Cup without a defeat?

Sri Lanka, Australia, and the West Indies are the three teams that have won an ODI World Cup without a single defeat.

In which World Cups did Australia remain unbeaten?

Australia remained unbeaten in the 2003 and 2007 World Cups. 

Did West Indies remain unbeaten in the 1975 and 1979 World Cups?

West Indies didn’t lose a single game in the 1975 and 1979 World Cups.