CPL Winners List From 2013 to 2022 – Check Complete List

Cricket Betting > Blog > CPL Winners List From 2013 to 2022 – Check Complete List

CPL, Tournaments

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


CPL winners list consists of four of the best franchises in T20 cricket – Trinbago Knight Riders, Jamaica Tallawahs, Barbados Royals, and St Kitts & Nevis Patriots. With the 11th edition of the Caribbean Premier League to begin on August 17, let us look at the CPL winners from 2013 to 2022. 

CPL Winners List

In the ten CPL editions, four teams have lifted the CPL title. Trinbago Knight Riders have etched their name in the trophy four times, while Jamaica Tallawahs and Barbados Royals clinched the silverware thrice and twice, respectively. St Kitts & Nevis Patriots became the fourth franchise to win the title when they grabbed a thrilling three-wicket over Saint Lucia Kings in 2021. 

SeasonWinnerWon ByRunner-upWinning Captain
2013Jamaica Tallawahs7 wicketsGuyana Amazon WarriorsChris Gayle
2014Barbados Royals8 runs (D/LMethod)Guyana Amazon WarriorsKieron Pollard
2015Trinbago Knight Riders20 runsBarbados TridentsDwayne Bravo
2016Jamaica Tallawahs9 wicketsGuyana Amazon WarriorsChris Gayle
2017Trinbago Knight Riders 3 wicketsSt Kitts & Nevis PatriotsDwayne Bravo
2018Trinbago Knight Riders 8 wicketsGuyana Amazon WarriorsDwayne Bravo
2019Barbados Royals27 runsGuyana Amazon WarriorsJason Holder
2020Trinbago Knight Riders8 wicketsSaint Lucia KingsKieron Pollard
2021St Kitts & Nevis Patriots3 wicketsSaint Lucia KingsDwayne Bravo
2022Jamaica Tallawahs8 wicketsBarbados RoyalsRovman Powell

Let us do a brief recap of the CPL winners season-wise:

The Inaugural Edition (2013):

The inaugural edition of CPL was in 2013. It saw six teams vying for one of the biggest honours in T20 cricket. A star-studded Jamaica Tallawahs, who had the likes of Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Vernon Philander, and Andre Russell in their ranks, won the first-ever CPL edition after a crushing victory over Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final. 

  • Top run-scorer: Shoaib Malik (Barbados Tridents) – 272 runs
  • Most wickets: Krishmar Santokie (Guyana Amazon Warriors) – 16 wickets

Barbados Tridents Triumph (2014):

Kieron Pollard’s Barbados Trident sealed a place in the CPL winners list in the 2014 season. The franchises finished top in the league stage and grabbed a comprehensive 45-run victory over Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final. It was the second successive defeat for the Warriors in the final. 

  • Top run-scorer: Lendl Simmons (Guyana Amazon Warriors) – 446 runs
  • Most wickets: Ravi Rampaul (Barbados Tridents) – 18 wickets

Trinbago The Winners (2015):

In the third edition of CPL, Trinbago Knight Riders claimed the trophy. Though they finished third in the league stage, the Dwayne Bravo-led side produced a top performance in the semi-final and final. Kamran Akmal, Cameron Delport, and Sulieman Benn steered Trinbago to a 20-run win. 

  • Top run-scorer: Chris Gayle (Jamaica Tallawahs) – 430 runs
  • Most wickets: Dwayne Bravo (Trinbago Knight Riders) – 28 wickets

Jamaica Tallawahs Win it Again (2016):

The 2016 edition saw CPL introduce playoffs. Jamaica Tallawahs made the most of it as they fought back after losing the opening Qualifier and won the title for a second time. They produced a ruthless performance in the final as the inaugural CPL champions bowled out Guyana Amazon Warriors for just 95. Tallawahs won the final by nine wickets. 

  • Top run-scorer: Chris Lynn (Guyana Amazon Warriors) – 454 runs
  • Most wickets: Dwayne Bravo (Trinbago Knight Riders) – 21 wickets

Trinbago Knight Riders Wins 2nd Title (2017):

Dwayne Bravo guided Trinbago Knight Riders to their second trophy in the CPL fifth edition. In the final, Trinbago chased down a tricky target of 136 thanks to Denesh Ramdin and Kevon Cooper’s unbeaten 46-run partnership. 

  • Top run-scorer: Chadwick Walton (Guyana Amazon Warriors) – 458 runs
  • Most wickets: Sohail Tanvir (Guyana Amazon Warriors) – 17 wickets

Hat-trick of Titles (2018):

Trinbago Knight Riders won a record third CPL title. The franchise topped the league stage with seven wins in ten games. However, they found themselves under pressure after losing the Qualifier. But they brought their ‘A’ game in Qualifier 2 and the final to grab a place in the CPL winners list for the third time 

  • Top run-scorer: Colin Munro (Trinbago Knight Riders) – 567 runs
  • Most wickets: Fawad Ahmed (Trinbago Knight Riders) – 22 wickets

Barbados Trident Ends Five-year Wait (2019):

In the CPL seventh season, Guyana Amazon Warriors looked like they would end their long wait for a title. The Warriors won all their league stage games. However, Barbados Tridents had other ideas. The Tridents lost to the Warriors in Qualifier 1 but took revenge in the final. Raymon Reifer’s four-wicket haul saw the inaugural champions add another silverware to their trophy cabinet. 

  • Top run-scorer: Brandon King (Guyana Amazon Warriors) – 496 runs
  • Most wickets: Hayden Walsh (Barbados Tridents) – 22 wickets

Trinbago Knight Riders Lift Fourth Trophy (2020):

In a unique feat, Trinbago Knight Riders became the first franchise to win the match without losing a single game. Kieron Pollard men’s won all 12 matches, including the Qualifier 1 and the final. The captain took four wickets, while Lendl Simmons struck an unbeaten 84 against St Lucia Zouks in the title clash. 

  • Top run-scorer: Lendl Simmons (Trinbago Knight Riders) – 356 runs
  • Most wickets: Scott Kuggeleijn (St Lucia Zouks) – 17 wickets

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots Win Maiden Title (2021):

The franchise based in Saint Kitts and Nevis found a place in the CPL winner list in a thrilling fashion. Needing nine runs to win in the last over against St Lucia Kings in the final, Dominic Drakes hit a four in the penultimate delivery. They ran a single in the final ball to help his team lift their maiden CPL title and join the likes of Trinabo Knight Riders, Jamaica Tallawahs, and Barbados Royals in the CPL winners list.

  • Top run-scorer: Roston Chase (Saint Lucia Kings) – 446 runs
  • Most wickets: Ravi Rampaul (Trinbago Knight Riders) – 18 wickets

Jamaica Tallawahs Clinch Third Trophy (2022):

In the latest edition of CPL, Jamaica Tallawahs became the first to win a trophy despite finishing fourth in the league stage. They eased past Saint Lucia Kings and Guyana Amazon Warriors in Eliminator and Qualifier 2, respectively. In the final, Tallawahs breezed past Barbados Royals by eight wickets. 

  • Top run-scorer: Brandon King (Jamaica Tallawahs) – 422 runs
  • Most wickets: Alzarri Joseph (Saint Lucia Kings) – 18 wickets

Guyana Amazon Warriors and Saint Lucia Kings remain the two franchises yet to win the CPL title.

Concluding Thoughts 

CPL is one of the T20 leagues that has provided plenty of entertainment to cricket fans over the years. The 2023 edition is expected to produce exciting games and great performances. It would be interesting to see if a new franchise joins Trinbago Knight Riders, Jamaica Tallawahs, Barbados Royals, and St Kitts & Nevis Patriots on the CPL winners list this season.

For More Info You can also read about Asia Cup Winners List from 1984 to 2022 | Winners & Runners

FAQs about CPL Winners List

Who is the most successful captain in CPL?

Dwayne Bravo has achieved the most success as a captain in CPL. The legendary cricketer has led Trinbago Knight Riders to three titles, while Saint Lucia Kings won the league under his leadership. 

How many teams feature in the CPL winners list?

Four franchises – Trinbago Knight Riders, Jamaica Tallawahs, Barbados Royals, and Saint Lucia Kings – have won at least one CPL title. 

Who are the franchises yet to win a CPL title? 

Guyana Amazon Warriors and Saint Lucia Kings haven’t won a CPL yet.