ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – Host, Venues, Format, and Schedule

Cricket Betting > Blog > ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 – Host, Venues, Format, and Schedule

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is the 13th edition of the biggest competition in white-ball cricket. Ten teams will feature in the 2023 World Cup, like the previous edition. India is the host, while 48 matches, including the semi-finals and the final, will be played in the 50-over World Cup. 

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 

Despite ODIs losing some relevance after T20 cricket’s emergence, the ODI World Cup has not lost its charm. The major cricketing nations fight for the coveted ICC trophy in India from October 5 to November 19. England is the defending champion, while their arch-rivals Australia has lifted the trophy a record five times. 

As cricket fans, we are all excited for the ICC cricket world cup to start. Let us look at the details,  ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 schedule, host, teams, venues, etc.

ICC World Cup 2023 Host and Teams

India is hosting the 2023 edition of the ODI World Cup. In 1987, 1996, and 2011, India co-hosted the ODI world cup with neighbours Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. The 2011 World Cup saw India becoming the first team to win the World Cup at its home. 

As mentioned above, ten teams feature in the 2023 World Cup. Eight teams qualified via their ODI Super League rankings, while two sealed their place after finishing winner and runner-up in the qualifying round. 

Here are the ten ICC World Cup 2023 teams: 

  1. India 
  2. England 
  3. Australia
  4. New Zealand 
  5. Pakistan 
  6. South Africa
  7. Bangladesh 
  8. Afghanistan
  9. Sri Lanka (Qualified via World Cup Qualifiers)
  10. Netherlands (Qualified via World Cup Qualifiers)

In a major disappointment for Caribbean cricket fans, West Indies failed to book a ticket to India. It will be the first ODI World Cup without the two-time champions.  

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the World Cup fixtures on June 27. In the tournament opener, England will take on New Zealand in the 2019 World Cup final rematch. Two-time champions and host India lock horns with Australia in their tournament’s opening match. Pakistan opens their campaign against the Netherlands, while South Africa and Sri Lanka meet each in their 2003 World Cup openers. 

  • Key Dates

Cricket fans will be eagerly waiting for some exciting fixtures. Arch-rivals India and Pakistan meet at Narendra Modi Stadium on October 15. The much-awaited England-Australia is on November 12. 

Here are a few key fixtures in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: 

  • England vs New Zealand – October 5
  • India vs Australia – October 8
  • India vs Pakistan – October 15
  • Australia vs Pakistan – October 20
  • India vs New Zealand – October 22
  • Pakistan vs Afghanistan – October 23
  • Australia vs New Zealand – October 28
  • India vs England – October 29
  • New Zealand vs Pakistan – November 4
  • Australia vs England – November 4

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Schedule is as follows:

Oct 52:00 PMEngland vs New ZealandAhmedabad
Oct 62:00 PMPakistan vs NetherlandsHyderabad
Oct 710:30 AMBangladesh vs AfghanistanDharamsala
Oct 72:00 PMSouth Africa vs Sri LankaDelhi
Oct 82:00 PMIndia vs AustraliaChennai
Oct 92:00 PMNew Zealand vs NetherlandsHyderabad
Oct 102:00 PMEngland vs BangladeshDharamsala
Oct 112:00 PMIndia vs AfghanistanDelhi
Oct 122:00 PMPakistan vs Sri LankaHyderabad
Oct 132:00 PMAustralia vs South AfricaLucknow
Oct 1410:30 AMNew Zealand vs BangladeshChennai
Oct 142:00 PMEngland vs AfghanistanDelhi
Oct 152:00 PMIndia vs PakistanAhmedabad
Oct 162:00 PMAustralia vs Sri LankaLucknow
Oct 172:00 PMSouth Africa vs NetherlandsDharamsala
Oct 182:00 PMNew Zealand vs AfghanistanChennai
Oct 192:00 PMIndia vs BangladeshPune
Oct 202:00 PMAustralia vs PakistanBengaluru
Oct 2110:30 AMNetherlands vs Sri LankaLucknow
Oct 212:00 PMEngland vs South AfricaMumbai
Oct 222:00 PMIndia vs New ZealandDharamsala
Oct 232:00 PMPakistan vs AfghanistanChennai
Oct 242:00 PMSouth Africa vs BangladeshMumbai
Oct 252:00 PMAustralia vs NetherlandsDelhi
Oct 262:00 PMEngland vs Sri LankaBengaluru
Oct 272:00 PMPakistan vs South AfricaChennai
Oct 2810:30 AMAustralia vs New ZealandDharamsala
Oct 282:00 PMNetherlands vs BangladeshKolkata
Oct 292:00 PMIndia vs England Lucknow
Oct 302:00 PMAfghanistan vs Sri LankaPune
Oct 312:00 PMPakistan vs BangladeshKolkata
Nov 12:00 PMNew Zealand vs South AfricaPune
Nov 22:00 PMIndia vs Sri LankaMumbai
Nov 32:00 PMNetherlands vs AfghanistanLucknow
Nov 410:30 AMNew Zealand vs PakistanBengaluru
Nov 42:00 PMEngland vs AustraliaAhmedabad
Nov 52:00 PMIndia vs South AfricaKolkata
Nov 62:00 PMBangladesh vs Sri LankaDelhi
Nov 72:00 PMAustralia vs AfghanistanMumbai
Nov 82:00 PMEngland vs NetherlandsPune
Nov 92:00 PMNew Zealand vs Sri LankaBengaluru
Nov 102:00 PMSouth Africa vs AfghanistanAhmedabad
Nov 112:00 PMIndia vs NetherlandsBengaluru
Nov 1210:30 AMAustralia vs BangladeshPune
Nov 122:00 PMEngland vs PakistanKolkata
Nov 152:00 PMTBC vs TBC (1st Semi-Final)Mumbai
Nov 162:00 PMTBC vs TBC (2nd Semi-Final)Kolkata
Nov 192:00 PMTBC vs TBC (Final)Ahmedabad

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Venues

Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the World Cup opener and the final. The stadium, with a capacity of 1,32,000, will also host the India-Pakistan, England-Australia, and South Africa-Afghanistan fixtures. M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, and Eden Gardens, Kolkata, will host the semi-final matches. 

Here’s the ICC World Cup 2023 venues:

  1. Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
  2. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
  3. M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
  4. Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune
  5. BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
  6. Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
  7. Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
  8. MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  9. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  10. Eden Gardens, Kolkata

All teams will be playing warm-up matches. The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 venues for the warm-up matches are Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad, Barsapara Cricket Stadium, Guwahati, and Greenfield International Stadium, Trivandrum.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Format

The format of the ICC cricket world cup 2023 is the same as the 2019 ODI world cup. The ten teams will play each other once in the league stage. In the knockout stage, four teams from the group stage play in the 2023 World Cup semi-finals. 

The team finishing at the top of the table will play the team that is fourth on the table in the opening semi-final. In the second semi-final, teams finishing second and third on the points table will play against each other.

For More Info You can also Read about icc world cup winners list

Concluding Thoughts

If you are an ardent cricket fan, there cannot be a bigger event than a cricket World Cup, especially when it is played in India. The 2023 World Cup brings back all the memories of the 2011 World Cup. Can history repeat itself? Indian cricket fans will surely hope for the same.

FAQs about ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

When will the ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 be played? 

The ODI cricket World Cup 2023 will be played in India from October 5 to November 19. 

Where will the India-Pakistan match be played?

India will meet Pakistan at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, on October 15.

Which are the venues that will host the World Cup semi-finals and final?

Narendra Modi Stadium will host the final, while the first and second semi-finals will be played at Wankhede and Eden Gardens, respectively.