India in Asia Cup – Recap of Seven Asia Cup Wins of India

Cricket Betting > Blog > India in Asia Cup – Recap of Seven Asia Cup Wins of India

Asia cup

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


India in Asia Cup is a dream for millions. Ahead of Asia Cup 2023, let’s look at the legacy of Indian cricket team in the tournament. 

India, who will be taking on Pakistan on September 2, is the most successful side in the tournament with seven Asia Cup titles. Under Rohit Sharma, the team faltered last year, when the tournament was curtailed into a T20 tournament.

The team had lost to Pakistan and was eventually eliminated in the Super Four stage.

Can they win the trophy this season? 

They would have to inspire themselves with the previous seven titles. We will also revisit those 7 Asia Cup titles of Team India. 

Recap of 7 Title Wins by India in Asia Cup

India is the best team in the Asia Cup. They have won the trophy on seven occasions, while Sri Lanka is the second-best team with six titles to their name. If Sri Lanka can win this Asia Cup, they will go head-to-head with in terms of the trophy count.

But here, we will take a look at India’s seven titles, and that too on an individual basis.

India in Asia Cup 1984:

The first Asia Cup was played in the UAE, where only three teams—India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka—took part.

  • India won that inaugural trophy by beating Pakistan in the final. 
  • India had batted first and, riding on Surinder Khanna’s fifty, managed to post a total of 188/4.
  • This proved too high for Pakistan, who failed to chase down the total, losing the match by 54 runs.

India’s 1988 Asia Cup Win:

India won the second Asia Cup, which was played in 1988 in Dhaka. They beat Sri Lanka in the final by six wickets.

  • India had bowled first and did well to bundle Sri Lanka for 176.
  • In reply, riding on Navjot Singh Sidhu’s 76, India chased down the target with six wickets remaining.

Win at Home in 1991:

India won the trophy for the second time running, hence winning the trophy for the third time overall.

  • The tournament was being played in India for the first time. 
  • And at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens, India beat Sri Lanka by seven wickets to win their third title.

India’s 1995 Asia Cup Win:

India won their third trophy on the trot and, hence, their fourth Asia Cup overall.

  • It seemed like a complete rerun of the 1991 Asia Cup final as Sri Lanka batted first at Sharjah and managed to post a total of 230/7.
  • In reply, it was again Mohammed Azharuddin who smashed 90* runs and helped India chase down that total with 8 wickets to spare.

Dhoni’s Mastermind in 2010:

India wouldn’t win any trophy for the next 15 years, winning their fifth title under the leadership of MS Dhoni in Sri Lanka.

  • In this low-scoring tournament, India batted first at Dambulla and posted a formidable total of 268/6 in the allotted 50 overs.
  • In reply, Sri Lanka were never in chase on a pitch that was always deteriorating. They were eventually all out for 187, losing the match by 81 runs.

India’s 2016 Asia Cup Win:

India won their sixth trophy after a gap of six years. It was again MS Dhoni who was the captain, and this win just prior to the T20 World Cup meant a lot for the fans.

  • In Dhaka, Bangladesh batted first and were restricted to 120/5. 
  • This score was easily chased down by India, courtesy of Shikhar Dhawan’s 60 and Virat Kohli’s unbeaten 41. India eventually won the match by eight wickets.

Thrilling Victory in 2018:

India won their seventh and last Asia Cup in the UAE as they beat Bangladesh in a thriller of a final.

  • Riding on Litton Das’ century, Bangladesh posted a target of 223, but the Indian batting line-up faltered in the chase.
  • They were left reeling at 167/5 as MS Dhoni departed, but Kedar Jadhav (23) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (21) somehow managed to bail India out. India eventually won the match by three wickets off the last ball.

Final Thoughts on Titles by India in Asia Cup

India is the most successful side with seven titles. They won back-to-back titles in 1988, 1991, and 1995. They would not win the trophy for the next 15 years, winning it in 2010 under the leadership of MS Dhoni.

They would also win another trophy in 2016 and 2018.

Let’s see if India can emulate their past success, since this is the need of the hour. A win in the Asia Cup will guarantee a boost in morale for the all-important 2023 ODI World Cup.

For More info you can also visit Cricket Betting Domain.

FAQ about Titles Wins by India in Asia Cup

How Many Titles Has India Won in the Asia Cup?

India has won seven titles.

How Many Back-to-back titles Has India Won in Asia Cup?

India won three back-to-back titles from 1988 to 1995. They won back-to-back titles again from 2016 to 2018.

Who Will Lead India in the 2023 Asia Cup?

Rohit Sharma is set to lead the team in the Asia Cup.