India’s Captains in ODI World Cup | Full List of Captains

Cricket Betting > Blog > India’s Captains in ODI World Cup | Full List of Captains

icc cricket world cup

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


The ODI World Cup is one of the most prestigious cricket tournaments in the world, where various nations compete for the ultimate glory. India has a rich history in the ODI World Cup, with several legendary captains leading the team over the years. India’s Captains in the ODI World Cup from 1975 to 2019 have left an indelible mark on the cricketing world. 

From the charismatic Kapil Dev to the strategic MS Dhoni, these leaders have led the team with passion and determination. Take a look into the leadership journeys of India’s captains in ODI World Cup history and their contributions to the nation’s cricketing legacy.

India’s Captains in ODI World Cup: The Men Behind the Success

From iconic leaders like Kapil Dev to modern-day cool captains like Virat Kohli, explore the captains who have donned the prestigious victory and left an indelible mark on the world stage.

Srinivas Venkataraghavan (1975 and 1979):

The ODI World Cup journey began in 1975 when Srinivas Venkataraghavan took charge as India’s captain in their first-ever World Cup by beating beat East Africa by 10 wickets. 

  • He is the first in the list of India’s captains in ODI World Cup. 
  • In the 1979 ODI World Cup, Venkataraghavan led the team again and lost to Sri Lanka in one of the games. 
  • Although they couldn’t win any match, Venkataraghavan’s leadership will be remembered in cricket history. 

Captaincy record: Matches led: 6, Won: 1, Lost: 5, Win%: 16.66.

Kapil Dev (1983 and 1987)

In 1983, Kapil Dev took over the captaincy and led India to their maiden World Cup victory. It was a historic moment for Indian cricket, and Kapil’s approach on the field inspired everyone to play their hearts out. 

  • His amazing score in the group stages will forever be etched in the cricketing world. 
  • Kapil’s captaincy was a breath of fresh air, and it paved the way for future captains to embrace aggression and self-belief.

Captaincy record: Matches led: 15, Won: 11, Lost: 4, Win%: 73.33.

Mohammed Azharuddin (1992, 1996, and 1999)

Mohammad Azharuddin was the next captain to lead India in the World Cup, who took charge in the ODI World Cup in 1992, 1996, and 1999. 

  • Azharuddin was known for his elegant strokeplay on the field. Under his leadership, India reached the tournament’s semi-finals, showcasing their potential as a formidable team. 
  • Though they couldn’t go all the way, Azharuddin’s captaincy built confidence in the team and set the stage for future success.

Captaincy record: Matches led: 23, Won: 10, Lost: 12, Win%: 43.47.

Sourav Ganguly (2003)

Sourav Ganguly captained India in the ODI World Cup 2003. His aggressive leadership style transformed the team altogether, leading them toward success. 

  • Ganguly played a pivotal role in nurturing the young talents while creating a winning mentality in players. 
  • Under his guidance, India reached the finals of the 2003 World Cup, where Australia defeated the team.

Captaincy record: Matches led: 11, Won: 9, Lost: 2, Win%: 81.81.

Rahul Dravid (2007)

Rahul Dravid was appointed the captain of the Indian cricket team for the 2007 ODI World Cup. However, his leadership during the tournament was marked by many successes. Kapil’s inspirational leadership and his memorable innings are etched in cricketing history.

Captaincy record: Matches led: 3, Won: 1, Lost: 2, Win%: 33.33.

MS Dhoni (2011 and 2015)

In 2011, MS Dhoni’s turn was to lead India in the World Cup. 

  • Dhoni’s calm nature on the field earned him the nickname “Captain Cool,” and he proved to be a master strategist. 
  • He played a crucial role in the final against Sri Lanka when he scored 91. 
  • His leadership skills were instrumental in guiding India to their second World Cup victory. He led the ODI World Cup 2015 as well. 

Captaincy record: Matches led: 17, Won: 14, Lost: 2,  Tied: 1, Win%: 82.35

Virat Kohli (2019) 

Virat Kohli took over as India’s captain in the ODI World Cup 2019. 

  • Known for his aggressive batting, Kohli has brought a new level of intensity to the team. 
  • While India couldn’t make it past the semi-finals in both tournaments, Kohli’s captaincy has been marked by his batting brilliance.

Captaincy record: Matches led: 10, Won: 7, Lost: 2, NR: 1, Win%: 70

Concluding Thoughts on India’s captains in ODI World Cup

India’s captains in the ODI World Cup have played a crucial role in developing the success of Indian cricket’s journey. As fans, we can only look forward to seeing more inspiring leaders take charge and lead India to further glory in future World Cups. ODI World Cup 2023 is approaching, and Rohit Sharma will lead the team. Stay tuned to see some amazing performances under his captaincy. 

Also Read: ICC World Cup Winners List and Runners List Till Now

Frequently Asked Questions

How Many Times India Has Won ODI World Cup?

India won two ODI World Cups in 1983 and 2011 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni.

Who is the Captain of the Indian Team in the ODI World Cup 2023?

Rohit Sharma is the captain of ODI World Cup 2023.