India’s Record in World Cup Semi-finals

Cricket Betting > Blog > India’s Record in World Cup Semi-finals

icc cricket world cup

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


India is one of the strongest ODI teams in the world. Being a British colony, they got Test status in 1932 and would also play the inaugural ODI World Cup in 1975. However, it was a disappointing performance, and this rut would continue in 1979 as well. However, they started to improve and won the tournament in 1983. They would win the trophy in 2011 as well. In the subsequent years, India has played some great cricket in ODI World Cup, reaching many semi-finals; here’s their record in the ODI World Cup semi-finals.

What is India’s Record in the World Cup Semi-finals?

India has reached the semi-finals in 1983, 1987, 1996, 2003, 2011, 2015 & 2019. On these seven occasions, they went on to win on three occasions. We will take a look at all these seven occasions up and close, but first, let’s take a look at the overall numbers:

1996LossSri Lanka
2019LossNew Zealand

1983 World Cup

India took on hosts England in the semi-final at Old Trafford in Manchester. England batted first after winning the toss and put 213 runs on the board in their 60 overs. Skipper Kapil Dev picked up three and got great assistance from Mohinder Amarnath and Roger Binny, who picked up two wickets each. In reply, India chased down the target with more than five overs to spare as Yashpal Sharma’s 61 and Sandeep Patil’s unbeaten 51.

1987 World Cup

Four years later, England exacted sweet revenge on India in Mumbai. The role had reversed with India being the host country, but the stage was the same – a World Cup semi-final. England batted first and, riding on Graham Gooch’s 115, had posted a stiff 255 at Wankhede. Maninder Singh took a three-wicket haul, while Kapil Dev, too, impressed with the ball. Chasing 256 under pressure was always tricky, and India fell short by 35 runs despite a fighting 64 from Mohammad Azharuddin. All-rounder Eddie Hemmings and fast bowler Neil Foster took seven wickets between them.

1996 World Cup

In 1996, India took on Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens. After winning the toss, India put Sri Lanka to bat first. It seemed a brilliant decision after Javagal Srinath removed Sanath Jayasuriya, Romesh Kaluwitharana, and Asanka Gurusinha in quick succession. But Sri Lanka fought back and posted 251 in their 50 overs thanks to fifties from Aravinda de Silva and Roshan Mahanama. In reply, India made an excellent start but lost their way after Sachin Tendulkar was dismissed for 65. India had to forfeit the match as riots broke out when the hosts lost their eighth wicket at 120.

2003 World Cup

India was up against Kenya in the 2003 World Cup semi-final, and skipper Sourav Ganguly led from the front. The left-handed batter scored an unbeaten 111 and stitched a 103-run partnership with Sachin Tendulkar, who made 83. Chasing 271 was always challenging at Durban, and Kenya folded for 179. Zaheer Khan took 3 for 14, while Ashish Nehra and Tendulkar claimed two wickets each. 

2011 World Cup

In 2011, India took on arch-rivals Pakistan in the semi-final in Mohali. It was the first-ever meeting between both teams in a World Cup last-four fixture. India batted first, and despite Sachin Tendulkar’s 85, the hosts were left struggling at 187/5. But Suresh Raina’s unbeaten 36 helped India post a total of 260/9. Wahab Riaz took 5/46. Pakistan seemed to control the run chase at 100/2 in 23 overs. However, Yuvraj Singh’s double strike triggered a collapse, and Pakistan never recovered. The ‘Men in Green’ lost the match by 39 runs despite Misbah-ul-Haq’s 56. 

2015 World Cup

In the 2015 World Cup, India, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, won all the matches in the group stage and the quarter-final clash too. However, the two-time winners met Australia in the semi-final match at the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground. Australia posted a mammoth 328/7 after a century from Steve Smith and an 81 from Aaron Finch. India struggled in the run chase, getting bowled out for 233. Dhoni top-scored with 65, while James Faulkner took 3/59.

2019 World Cup

Like in 2015, India remained unbeaten in the group stage. New Zealand awaited them in the clash for a place in the final. India restricted Kiwisto 239/8 in the rain-affected game at Old Trafford. Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson hit fifties, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar took three wickets. The game went into reserve day as it rained after the first innings. India came out for a chase on the second day under overcast conditions, and the ball started to swing. New Zealand blew away the Indian top order with the score reading 24/4. India would eventually get bundled out for 221 despite a tremendous 77 from Ravindra Jadeja and a fifty from MS Dhoni. It was also the former Indian captain’s last match in an Indian jersey. 

Concluding Thoughts

India has consistently made it to the World Cup semi-finals since the 2011 edition. The victory over Pakistan in 2011 remains a memorable triumph, while India’s batters were outplayed in 2015 and 2019. Indian cricket faithful will be hoping that Rohit Sharma and his men will make the 2023 semi-final fixture memorable.

Also Read Most Successive ODI World Cup Wins While Chasing