Most Successive ODI World Cup Wins While Chasing

Cricket Betting > Blog > Most Successive ODI World Cup Wins While Chasing

icc cricket world cup

Get up to ₹20,000 on First Deposit Bonus


Winning matches on the trot in a World Cup is tough. In multi-nation tournaments, teams will give their best, and it can be challenging to outwit teams consistently. Winning consecutive matches, especially chasing down the scores all the time, is an outstanding achievement. Let us look at two teams who have managed to chase down totals on the trot.

Most Successful Wins While Chasing in ODI World Cups

India and New Zealand hold the record for most consecutive wins while chasing in ODI World Cups. Both teams clinched five wins in a row. New Zealand was the first team to do so in the 2015 World Cup when the two-time ODI World Cup runners-up beat Scotland, England, Australia, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh. Meanwhile, India’s victories came against Australia, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and New Zealand. 

Let us look at how New Zealand and India achieved this excellent feat at the World Cup. 

New Zealand  – 5 (2015 World Cup)

As the 2015 World Cup was played in Australia and New Zealand, the Kiwis got to play their group stage matches, the quarter-final, and the semi-final in front of their home crowd. They opened their campaign with a 98-run thrashing of Sri Lanka in Christchurch. 

From there on, New Zealand won five games in a row while chasing. Against Scotland, the Brendon McCullum-led side clinched a narrow three-wicket win. However, in their next game, New Zealand thrashed England by eight wickets courtesy of Tim Southee’s 7/33 and McCullum’s unbeaten 77. 

New Zealand registered a third successive win while chasing after overcoming Australia by a wicket in Auckland. Kane Williamson saw New Zealand home by hitting the winning runs. A week later, Kiwis beat Afghanistan by six wickets thanks to Daniel Vettori and Trent Boult’s bowling exploits. The fifth straight win while chasing came against Bangladesh in Hamilton. In a tense finish, New Zealand chased down 289 with three wickets and seven balls to spare. 

  1. vs Scotland – won by 3 wickets
  2. vs England – won by 8 wickets 
  3. vs Australia – won by 1 wicket 
  4. vs Afghanistan – won by 6 wickets 
  5. vs Bangladesh – won by 3 wickets

Also Read World Cup Cricket Betting Tips – 3 Top Tips to Win Big

India  – 5 (2023 World Cup)

Though New Zealand had a few close and nervy run chases, India had relatively comfortable wins in record five consecutive run chases. The ‘Men in Blue’ met Australia in their opening match of the tournament. Bowlers helped India skittle the Aussies for 199. In reply, India lost three wickets for just two runs, but Virat Kohli and KL Rahul saw India home in the 42nd over. 

Afghanistan awaited India in their second match. The Hashmatullah Shahidi-led side posted 272/8 in their 50 overs. However, Rohit Sharma’s century helped India cruise past Afghanistan by eight wickets in Delhi. India thrashed Pakistan for their third successive win. Pakistan was bowled out for 191, and Rohit Sharma and Shreyas Iyer hit fifties to help India ease past against their arch-rivals. 

India met Bangladesh next. The result was no different as India chased down 257, with Virat Kohli scoring an unbeaten 103. The victory against New Zealand in Dharamsala saw India clinch five wins in a row. It was a close finish as Virat Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja added 77 for the sixth wicket to help India track down 274 and go on level with New Zealand for most wins while chasing in the ODI World Cup.  

  1. vs Australia – won by 6 wickets
  2. vs Afghanistan – won by 8 wickets 
  3. vs Pakistan – won by 7 wickets
  4. vs Bangladesh – won by 7 wickets 
  5. vs New Zealand – won by 4 wickets

Concluding Thoughts

India and New Zealand are the two top teams in ODI cricket, and their campaigns also looked similar. Both beat teams like Bangladesh and Afghanistan, but here, India’s campaign stands apart. In India’s case, they had conceded Bangladesh and Afghanistan both 250-plus scores and could have come under pressure, but they didn’t. New Zealand, despite that record, couldn’t manage to win the trophy in 2015. In India’s case, we will have to wait and see if India can win the final on their own pitches.